email penpals - find friends around the world

Date: Wednesday, 24. June 2020
Name: SomeGuyInAZ
Living in: flag United States
Age: 66
Gender: Male
Homepage:
Description:
I am hoping to find an email-pal of either sex who would like to discuss languages, science, moral dilemmas, history…in a word, ideas. I would be happy to discuss politics, but as an observer, not an advocate. I think you would find me pretty well read, and up-to-date on current events.
Hopefully, we could also share information about our daily lives. I live in Arizona, a state in the south-west US. I am 66, divorced, living alone in a single-family home in a suburb of Phoenix. I am friendly with my ex-wife, and we see each other a couple of times a week. I'm currently making a bookshelf for her, and it's a tall one, 7'4". I have no pets. I have been attending the same book club for 26 years (though there was a 'break in service' there for a couple of years). I am active in my Church. I won't try to convert you; I am still trying to convert myself.
I like studying languages. They taught me Russian in the Army and stationed me in Augsburg, Germany. I was listening to Russian tanks talking to each other in East Germany (remember East Germany?) While there I took up German. Much later, in my 40's, I took a couple of years of Spanish. Here in the South-west live lots of Spanish speakers. Recently, starting about three years ago, I took up French. I love the language, and mastered as much of the grammar as you can in 2 years of college, but for some reason I'm poor at aural comprehension. It may be because I'm older, or the nasalization, or that fact that they mostly drop the last syllable, or the liason...I can read it, but I have a hard time understanding it spoken. It's mortifying.
Some of my favorite books are "Guns, Germs, and Steel" by Jared Diamond, "The Selfish Gene" by Richard Dawkins, and "The Magic Mountain" by Thomas Mann.

Interests: Literature, Languages, Science, Travelling, World affairs
Languages: English
Requirements:


Reply to this ad by filling in the form below:

My email address:
Repeat:
I confirm that I read and agree to the Terms of service.
I confirm that I am at least 16 years old.
Text:

5000 characters maximum.





By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service.(changed 24.5. 2018) Advertisments, ads and replies are owned by the poster. We can not guarantee their accuracy or validity. We are not responsible for them or the content they link to in any way.
Copyright © 2006 - 2020 phk.at.    Impressum - Privacy Policy - RSS
Feedback EnglishEnglish    DeutschDeutsch
1